12.20.2009

LFG Heroics

Well, it snowed for 24 hours straight and we got ~22" of soft powdery, Christmas joy. This also canceled the plans of my sister & bro-in-law moving most of their stuff into their apartment. Thus I had nothing to do all day Saturday and nowhere was I going. So, WoW.

So I spent the afternoon off & on and most of the evening playing WoW.
I recently created a new character to be my Auction House auctioneer and banker. That means I won't be leveling this character, her only purpose is to check the Auction House periodically for deals for reselling & such, and my other characters will mail her loot that can be sold. She thus holds on to the bulk of my gold and stays parked in the city.

Meanwhile I decided to make use of Patch 3.3's new Dungeon Finder in-game tool with my main Warlock. It allows you to queue for groups of your level across servers. Awesome.
I started with random WotLK regular dungeons since I never did most of them while leveling, was unsure if I was geared up enough to do the Heroic versions (they tend to be 30-50% harder -- ie, mobs have up to twice as much health and hit that much harder), and am out of practice for raiding. So I played several normal-mode 5-man instances. I got lucky and ran thru some of the new Ice Crown Citadel instances (3 runs total) and got 4 pieces of upgraded gear -- iLevel 219!
Then Stevo & I got on Skype and he convinced me to do Heroic versions and I did -- and rocked 'em! >8:-]
I was able to acquire 45 Emblems of Triumph throughout the evening and at the end of the night bought a sweet pair of pauldrons, major upgrade. I socketed 'em and threw an enchantment I bought with WG's Stone Keeper Shards on 'em.

Steve also introduced me to an add-on called GearScore. It shows me what my gear score (adding all the Item Levels of all of my gear), and adds the gear score to the tooltips so I can see everyone else's gear score. It also has a handy chart to show what instances/dungeons are around my level with that gear score! =D


I also learned some things about managing my aggro. That started when I was the overpowering 'lock in Halls of Lightning normal mode with a group of level 78-79ers. If I pulled aggro off the tank on bosses, we'd wipe. And we did. I had to DPS sslloowwllyy to avoid that.
Then Stevo tanked an instance just to mess around (it was late at night) and I hadn't updated my Recount add-on (which shows how much damage I'm putting out) so I only had Omen Threat Meter add-on to determine "how well I'm doing". I reasoned that if I'm pulling aggro off Steve that I must be putting out quite a bit. ;P He confirmed: 2700 DPS on one of the bosses. That's a new high for me. >8:-]

12.13.2009

Ikea Shopping

Saturday I showed my parents my apartment -- they were impressed & happy for me. Then we headed to my sister & bro-in-law's [who are signing the lease for their new apt in Columbia as I type this] and the 5 of us went to Ikea in White Marsh in 3 cars so I could do some shopping.
I love Ikea. ^_^

I was able to get everything I wanted (plus a few other things) -- a bed & mattress, dresser, nightstand, end table, coffee table. I also picked up a set of 6 cool glasses (perfect size to fill with ice and pour half-full for a perfect 2 oz. pour), a blue comforter with lines on it, and a few more kitchen gadgety things [knives! with black & white handles!].
We got back to my place in the late afternoon and hauled everything inside. Mom & Marie ran out to get pizza while Dad, Frederic & I started building. Dad & I also built the red retro diner table & stools which I had bought at a Target like 3-4 years ago because 1.) it's AWESOME and 2.) it was on sale for $30, down from $130 and the only one!


The next thing I need to buy is a couch. I've been looking at futons, so I can have a place for someone visiting to sleep on... but I have yet to find a futon that's A.) very comfortable, B.) sized well [many are too long in the seat] and 3.) has arms. None of the futons at Ikea were to my liking. There's one at Value City Furniture that looks cool, but until I sit on it I can't tell if it'll be comfortable at all -- most of them you can feel the springs when sitting. >:-P
Mostly likely I'll just get a "normal" couch... but then I'll get it shipped, and have to be at the apt when it arrives and... oy.

I also have to plan when to get the Verizon FiOS hooked up -- gotta be a weekend since I work all day during the week of course. I can just use my laptop, so I won't have to haul my desktop over before potentially sleeping there permanently -- home is where my computer is. >8-]
And I have to see how much the cable will be on top of the internet access... cause I can live without TV. The only shows I watch are the ones I watch with Jason, and I'd rather watch 'em with Jason & Megan than just by myself. Tho I can see having the TV on while playing on my computer just to fill all the silence... ;P

12.08.2009

Blogger glitched somehow and now I can't properly edit the previous post on Manhattan for typos or to post the link to the pics.

Anyway, a couple of pics I took from NYC are here.

Manhattan in the Rain/Snow

Saturday, Dec 5th Stevo & I took a charter bus from his college (Stevenson, formerly known as Villa Julie, right near where I work) up to Manhattan.
Fun times!

The bus left at 8:15am. It was lightly raining in NYC when we arrived around noon. By 4pm that had turned to snow (big flakes) but never stuck to the ground, which was soaked.

We got dropped off at 46th & 6th, and Steve & I walked down to Herald Square (Macy's), as Tannen's Magic Shop is near there (34th).
Popped into Tannen's... nice to say I've been there now, but nothing special about it really ,except the history.
Steve wanted to take a cab from there to Canal St to Chinatown, but I convinced him to take the subway. That saved us about $20, and Steve got to get comfortable taking the subway.
We walked around Chinatown, Steve bought a couple of watches (haggled of course) and I bought the standard white "I <3 NY" T-shirt, for $3.
Then we wandered, with Steve's map, looking for the Ghostbuster's firehouse. We found it! =)
After that we got back on the subway (missed the 2 hour mark on our metro cards by just 2 minutes!) and took it up back to Times Square.

We met up with 2 Australian guys (in their late 30s?) whom Steve knows from his guild in World of Warcraft! The 4 of us were lounging in a coffee shop for somewhere between an hour and a half to 2 hours. At first it was a little awkward I think, but once we started talking about the common ground -- WoW -- the conversation was never-ending. ;P
On a side-note, I can't find the name of that coffee shop anywhere online. I thought it was something like Gregory's Caffe & Bakery, but it was only a few blocks from Times Square...

After that, we set off to walking around more... up/down (?) 5th Ave... we went to Rockefella Center to see the Christmas tree (by this point it was ~4pm and snowing) and I was able to snap a few good photos of the lit tree.

Then we headed to the south-west corner of Central Park, where the apt building used at the end of Ghostbusters is... That was neat to see.
Following that we backtracked and popped into The Shops at Columbus Circle, spending a good deal of time at Borders. At this point my hat was dripping wet. >:-/

We killed a hour or so in that mall, then headed back toward Times Square, looking for a place to eat dinner on the way. Decided on Applebee's if the wait wasn't too long, and it was only 10-15 min (and we only waited like 7 min). That was a mere 2 blocks from where the bus would pick us up at 8pm. Applebee's in Manhattan was much more expensive than anywhere else -- I didn't expect that... appetizers were 2x normal price, and entrees were +$8 or so above normal. Despite being packed, service was fast -- we probably waited less than ever for our entrees.

When we arrive back at 46th & 6th and saw a bunch of other people from the bus, we knew we had more fun than anyone else. ^_^ Of course, we were soaked thru-and-thru all day [I don't think I've been more wet, even in the shower...!!], but that's because we walked around all day in the rain/snow... and didn't wimp out and stay indoors/in cabs all day -- we had an adventure!
>8:-]

I was texting with my sister off and on all day -- getting her weather report of the Baltimore area, so I knew to expect to come back to 4-5" of snow. That was fun, everyone getting off the bus and scrambling to clean off their cars. And that wasn't powdery snow, oh no, it was icy snow. Safe drive home though.

12.07.2009

Enchanted Hills

Last weekend (a week ago) on Saturday, my sister & bro-in-law came over and borrowed my laptop downstairs to look at apartments in Columbia (where they are now moving to later this month) with my Mom.
I popped downstairs to see what sites they were on and casually asked them to search for apartments in the Owings Mills/Reisterstown area. We found a few in my price range, with varying reviews, and 1 that seemed perfect for me at a great price. I decided I'd do a little research during the week, then I went back upstairs to play WoW, knowing Stevo was on...
When Marie & Frederic were ready to leave, they asked what time I was coming over (they live Reisterstown), and I shrugged and said noon-ish.
They basically forced me into looking at this apartment... and when we were there the gal said there was a waiting list 6 people long for Jan-Feb move-ins. But one apt might be available for early Dec. So I knew my financial situation, so I applied for the apt.
By the next day (Monday) I got a phone call saying my application was approved, and the lady they were holding that apt for never answered her phone, so it was mine. I came in at lunch on Tues to sign the lease, then Friday I paid my deposit and first month's rent and got my keys.

Friday night after work Marie & I went to Target and a nearby dollar store (actually, almost every store ever is up & down the main road my apt is off of: Reisterstown Road), then met up with Frederic when he got home from work.
We got take-out Chinese food and took it to my [empty] apartment & ate on the floor. ^_^

Here are some of those pics from Friday night... [I swear no alcohol was involved!] The place is actually bigger than it looks in the pics (it's 850 sq feet), since the photographer [myself] takes up space even when backed up to the wall. You'll have to come over and see it for yourself when I get settled in! =)

I'm taking my time moving stuff in. I want to have a full Christmas at home...

Next weekend my Family & I are going up to Ikea and I'm buying a new bed (bigger!), dresser, night stand, and whatever fun [smaller] things abound.
I found a cheap-but-good futon I want for my couch (obviously doubling as a bed for someone to crash on) elsewhere.

12.02.2009

Rain, rain, go away...

I love the sound of rain on the roof as I lay in bed falling asleep.
But I'm so sick of driving in it!
When did monsoon season develop in freakin' Baltimore?!

11.27.2009

C____

I had my first candy cane of the season. It was... amazing.
There aren't words for that kind of satisfaction. =D

11.26.2009

Herbalism & Alchemy

Played WoW leveling my DK all evening. Stevo was raiding during the pre-midnight hours, and it's fun to get updates on what's going on on the other side of the world... of Warcraft [couldn't resist that one sorry, hehe]. I cleared all the quests in Zangarmarsh & got the achievement for that.

I started around 8:30pm at early-level 63 and leveled to 64 and 75% into it by ~1am. That's about when Steve was finished with raiding, so we got on Skype. Then we did a smash-&-grab thru Blood Furnace so I could complete 2 dungeon quests for that place. Then I was at 97% so as we B.S.'d around Honor Hold (town nearby) I convinced him to do it again till I hit 65. We did, I dinged. /dance

Then I was in the Scryer's Library in Shattrath (tho I hate blood elves... they're so pretentious, ew). There are bookshelves for every profession in the game, and my DK didn't yet have any professions (you can learn & train up to 2).
I wanted a 'gathering' prof so I could sell that jazz on the Auction House and make money. Herbalism (picking plants) or Mining (mining ore nodes for raw ore) would suffice, but being level 65 means to level a gathering prof I'd have to go to the starting areas and spending time leveling my character and only leveling the prof [professions are generally meant to be worked on as you level up your character].
I also wanted to have Alchemy, which allows you to brew all sorts of potions -- not just health & mana potions, but stuff like "underwater breathing" and "run speed increase" potions. I also get the Mixology feature, and at the max level you also get 'bottomless' potions for your use only. >8:-]

So, it was 2:30am and Stevo & I were chatting about professions and the benefits... and I grabbed Herbalism & Alchemy. Alchemy needs herbs & plants as ingredients to the potions, so I can level both back-to-back. I won't have to spend much money at all leveling Alchemy since most of my mats will come from my gathering.
Also, he pointed me to WoW-Professions.com -- a site that lists the most efficient way to level profs up! /smart

I spent the next 30-40 min making 2 loops around Elwynn Forest to level up my Herbalism, collecting plants. Stevo for a bit was also leveling Herbalism on his Druid alt in another area before we called it a night ~3:15am. ^_^

Happy Thanksgiving!

11.22.2009

My new emoticon

I just recently created this one, it's a mad scientist with goggles on his forehead:

>8:-]


I haven't seen it anywhere previously, so I claim it!

Oh, WoW.

The new job has sapped a lot of my free time. Playing WoW got pushed aside for the first month and a half. That's a horrible coincidence since I stopped playing just when my coz Joe finally started.

I recently started playing frequently again, but just haven't had the desire to level a new character up from 1 all the way to 80... I had started a Druid (a shapeshifter class) when Joe did, except I'm still at level 16 and Joe's been questin' on & on and is currently 41. I definitely don't have the time or drive to push on and try to catch up.

So, in the interest of saving time AND trying something new, I'm leveling up a Death Knight. DKs start at level 55 (and you have to have a character that's already at least level 55 to create one), start in their own special beginning zone with lore and a back-story going on, kind of "predating" the events in the third [current] expansion pack. Very cool.

They're melee-based attackers, tho the spec I'm going with [Unholy] combines some spells and a permanent ghoul minion that fights with me. So yes, basically a melee-warlock wearing plate mail instead of cloth. >:-]
After you finish up the story leading you out of the DK starting zone, you arrive in the main city of your faction (I'm Alliance, so Stormwind city) and have to talk to the king. After all of that, I was walking through the city and a level 80 DK player asked me to sign his guild charter (to start a guild).
Doing so costs me nothing and I could leave right after the guild was created (after 9 "signatures"). Turns out these people are very friendly, so I didn't leave.
It's nice to share experiences and dings [level-ups] and achievements with a group again. ^_^

Now I'm level 61. Stevo has a Druid at 60, and at the rate I don't play, hopefully Joe will catch up so we can quest in Northrend together, post-68 [and post-Christmas?].

Late Friday night the 3 of us got on Skype while playing our characters separately. Tons o' fun. =)
Then late Sat night Joe (@lv41, Balance Druid) & I (@lv60, Unholy DK) ran thru Stormwind Stockades, a short level-30 instance in Stormwind city. I love a good smash-&-grab! >8:-]

11.18.2009

CS4 + Graphire4 + TheCore4

I've been sketching a bit in Photoshop lately. With my new fast computer and Photoshop CS4, there's no slowdown at all for me.
I remember back in Fall 2004 when I was in the Martini Art War with a girlfriend at the time, and I was creating digital martini art on my old 450MHz computer with a 16Mb gfx card [painfully slow] and bought myself a new laptop which ran at like 1.2Ghz...
Going from 2 processors at 1.4Ghz with an integrated-crappy-Intel gfx card on my more recent laptop to this desktop tower [I named it "TheCore4" -- a hommage to The Final Five in Battlestar Galactica, swapping alliteration for a rhyming scheme] with 4 processors at 2.6Ghz and a decent gfx card is like the same transition. ^_^
It took a little tweaking to get my Wacom Graphire4 tablet running well in CS4 under Windows7, but it's working and possibly better than ever -- it feels more sensitive. =) That might just be because my processors are processing the input faster, but either way it feels better.

I've uploaded a couple of new bits of digital art to my DeviantArt gallery, and this is what I did tonight (go to the gallery to see it in full, clear resolution and of course my commentary).

A Boy and His Ooze

11.16.2009

Autumn in Georgetown, 2009

After a bit of miscommunication with Sara, I decided to go for gusto & carpe diem and fended for myself and made plans to go to DC with my sister & bro-in-law on Sunday. We decided on Georgetown because they had wanted to see it all (having only been in that area once prior and not for too long) and I hadn't been there in a long time.
It had been at least 2 years.

Not too much has changed since I used to hang out in Georgetown. A few new shops in place of a few old ones maybe. Actually the biggest change was merely that the small park on the waterfront is gone and is currently a fenced-off construction zone. /shrug

It was fun being back there again, and going into all sorts of fun shops. A few are mandatory for me: Commander Salamander [an odd punk/indie clothing store -- used to have cool toys but no more apparently, boo], the huge Urban Outfitters [again, less fun toys than ever before], Dean & Deluca [but they didn't have any fresh apple cider in stock] and looking in the storefront window of an expensive antique shop at the martini shakers from the 30s-50s they always have on display. Surprisingly I didn't find anything I wanted to buy. Maybe the colored anodized-aluminum shot glasses at Urban Outfitters just for the cool factor, but I certainly don't need 'em.

Georgetown had its usual smell [which of course is difficult to describe, but each part of the city has a slightly different smell based on the stores/restaurants around + how much traffic drives thru] combined with that Autumn dead-leafy smell I love. Oh do I love it!

We drove in to Georgetown, via the Cabin John Parkway exit off 495 -- the same exit for Glen Echo. We continued on the road past the odd "U-turn" to Glen Echo and eventually that takes you around to the main drag thru Georgetown, although on the opposite side I'm used to (the Georgetown University side), it's not the Metro & Georgetown hospital side.

It was a good day -- I always enjoy walking around any part of DC in decent weather, and it was fun to do it with my sis & bro. =)

11.08.2009

Leave the Torchlight on...

I was able to acquire a new game recently: Torchlight. [official site] [wiki]
I had heard some buzz about it and was intrigued. It's an RPG by Runic Games, and partially designed by guys who worked on Diablo I & II.
To be honest the only way I can sum up the description is the same as everyone else: a single-player World of Warcraft as done in the Diablo engine.

It's an RPG, with randomly generated dungeons a la Diablo. There's 1 town to come back to. All the standard features are there (even the Town Portal spell and Identify scrolls). You can choose from 3 player types: melee DPS, ranged DPS, or spellcaster (mana-based ranged DPSer). Isometric view you can't rotate. Five points to distribute to Str/Dex/Magic/Defense per level.

The weapon names and art style are very WoW-like: that slightly cartoonish, colorful, "fat" look. Quest givers have the familiar yellow "?" from WoW, and when you take/complete a quest you're informed on the sidebar of how much Gold, XP, and items you'll receive. There are also 'talent trees' to customize your character's abilities (+1 point per level to distribute, and +1 point every time you level up your Fame rating). Inventory is done the WoW way: one item per slot (so no playing Tetris in the inventory bag). Even your gear has sockets to fit gems into. Boss fights every couple of dungeon levels.

A neat thing is that you always have a pet: you choose a cat or a dog when you create the character. The dog looks like a husky or grey wolf, and the cat looks like a small tiger/lynx in yellow-orange. That pet fights alongside you, has a pack that can carry as many items as you can, AND you can send him off to run back to town to sell off whatever is in his bag. That saves some trips back & forth from town.

The game is gorgeous and supports my 1600x900 rez, but it's not overly complicated in the gfx department so it would run beautifully on a lesser computer (like my laptop I surmise).

One major thing I like about Torchlight is that it's an RPG, but has difficulty levels. So I put mine on Easy because I just want to romp thru the dungeons and experience the content and have fun and not die... ^_^

I chose to play The Alchmist. Yep, the spellcaster. He's like a mix of mage & steampunk styles. Staff or wand in hand, big mechanical glove on the other hand, plus goggles. Love my goggles. I named him spontaneously, a variation of 'rascal' -- Raz Kal. I think that might be my new game characters' names. I named my pet cat Tigre (that's French for tiger, always made me think of a little kitty tiger).
So far I'm like level 10-ish, I can fire off 3 bolts of energy at once, a chain blast of lightning, and summon up to 3 permanent Imps to fight with me, and a small horde of zombies for a minute at a time (yes, I've taken the Warlock route a la my WoW character). >:-]

It IS only single-player, as the development time was under a year I think I had read. In another year or two they are planning on releasing an MMORPG based on this. If so, I definitely would look into it.

Check it out, it's $20 to download from the official website, else there's definitely something from TPB...

10.30.2009

A little Mark on the Bench

Did a little bit of initial testing of some games with my new computer and the ATI Radeon 4200 gfx card.


World of Warcraft
1600x900 rez, graphics all set to Highest (including View Distance!), shadows set to lowest

* 30-60 fps in Dalaran city (depending on player population & architecture) -- up from 2-5 fps on my laptop!
* 35 fps and no lag in the thick of a 20-on-20 brawl in Wintergrasp (PvP Battleground) among cannon fire galore -- up from like 2 fps on my laptop in those situations
* 45 fps average in Stormwind city with medium-high player population near the bank&AH area


Morrowind
1024x786 (max) rez, all graphics set to highest

Couldn't get the fps counter up in-game, but I used to get an average 9-15 fps in the game on my laptop, with the main open area of Balmora city dipping to about 7 fps.
Now, everything is perfectly smooth & fast with gfx cranked.


DOOM 3
1154x864, graphics set to High

35-60 fps, depending on architecture & number of NPCs/monsters.
My laptop ran at 5 fps with 800x600 rez and all gfx settings to lowest, ew.


Left 4 Dead runs perfectly smooth with graphics set high, though it has support for multiple processors which is very nice.
Still to test: Oblivion, Halo 1.

Update:
I installed Oblivion, maxxed out the graphics and can play it smoothly.
Also installed Halo 1, maxxed out the gfx and it plays fine. Halo 1 as a benchmark is more because its code is poorly written, causing it to be a resource hog. Not so much because the graphics are intense (they certainly look dated as compared to Halo 3).

Yes!

Love it =)

Pearls Before Swine

10.29.2009

New computer

This week I bought a new desktop computer. It's an HP Pavillion.
Stats:
Quadcore AMD Phenom II 810 processors
8 Gb RAM
750 Gb HDD
ATI Raedeon 4200 gfx card (integrated, not bad but not all that great... I will be upgrading this in the near future).
Windows 7 Home Premium
It has a digital video output, and a built-in wireless card and came with an antenna that attaches to it. The computer is very quiet too. ^_^

I also bought an LG 20" widescreen flat-panel monitor. Very nice.

In the near future I'm going to dual boot the latest version of Ubuntu (which came out today actually). But first I want to get a little used to Windows 7.

10.25.2009

Favorite Week of the Year (2009)

This week is my favorite week of the year. The weather's nice & cool, the trees are changing colors, and Halloween is at the end of it and that decor abounds! =)

This week this year is going to be great because I'm going to buy a new desktop computer & a 20" flat-panel LCD monitor (for a good price too). I may need to upgrade the gfx card, but there's no rush on that (the only game I've been playing in months is WoW, you know).
I already ordered a nice new keyboard: the Saitek Eclipse II -- it's LED illuminated. B-)


And I just discovered that the new version of Ubuntu (9.10, which is released Thursday) supports my current laptop's wireless card! So I installed it over the old Ubuntu version I was dual-booting with. If I can get Photoshop CS4 and WoW to run in Linux under W.I.N.E. then I won't have any need for Windows... 7 or otherwise. ;P
I downloaded the 9.10 beta official .iso and burned it to a CD. Then I did a live boot from the CD to boot up into the OS to see what's new. It detected the gfx card settings and wireless automatically -- previous versions of Ubuntu weren't off-the-bat compatible with the Intel integrated gfx cards (ugh) and needed heavy tweaking to get the GUI up and running correctly. And a separate wireless program was needed to get the wireless card to work, and the set back with that program was that it didn't allow all cards to connect if the network has WEP on it. Guess what... yeah. :-/
All that's changed. =)
Now come Thurdsay all I'll have to do is automatically apply the updates and I'll have the full hot new version. Of course, I won't be caring much about this laptop, as I'll have a shiny new desktop replacing it. ^_^

10.18.2009

Art Therapy

Mmm... I created some new digital art today and suddenly feel... well, I don't know what feeling it is, but it feels good.

I haven't actually done anything productive [as in, produced anything or created something, or put work/effort into accomplishing anything] since I started the new job. And so I've felt that my free time [what little I have nowadays] was just flying by, used up by just relaxing. Ok, I did watch both seasons of True Blood, so while that is something to show for some of the time, it's nothing I created or did.

So, this piece isn't anything particularly stupendous and didn't take very long at all, but it's swell. In fact, it took me as long to make my Halloween playlist in WinAmp as it did to make this piece of art while listening to that.
Artist's commentary & full-quality version found where I uploaded it in my DeviantArt gallery.

No One Lives Forever (grunge wall)

10.11.2009

Samsung Rogue U960

Today I bought the Samsung Rogue.
It's quite nice... basically all the features of a Blackberry. It's full touch screen, with a full keyboard that slides out of the side (and the on-screen display rotates 90 degrees). That on-screen display is 480x800 and gorgeous.
This phone must have a powerful processor in it because when I call up new menus and stuff it happens instantly, no lag. My previous phone had that lag, it got annoying. ;P

It lets me surf the net in html format, not that puny "Mobile Web 2.0" that's on normal cell phones (and thus why it's more like a Blackberry).

The main screen is similar to the iPhone in that you can put icon shortcut to apps & jazz on it, tho you can arrange them anyway you want 'em; think of a computer's desktop screen. And there's also a fly-out sidebar that can hold 'em, which you can scroll thru. That's where I keep mine, on the sidebar, and then have the sidebar tucked off screen, with just a tab sticking out to summon it. ;P
And txt messages are threaded by person in the same way that Gmail threads emails! =D

Unfortunately since the Rogue only recently came out, there are very few apps available as of yet. It did come preloaded with trial versions of Need For Speed Undercover and Resident Evil Degeneration... and I was impressed at the graphics level.

I'm not allowed to check my personal email at work, during work, on my work computer. So this new phone will allow me to easily check it and easily write emails during my hour-long lunch, and two 15-min breaks.

10.09.2009

T. Rowe Price

By now everyone should know I got a job working at T. Rowe Price doing technical support.
Finally a full-time day job that pays well [quite well in fact]. I'm so happy! =)

Sara was able to suggest my name to Beth at Comsys when the openings came in that very morning. I had an over-the-phone interview later that week, and an in-person interview that next Monday. Everything flowed so smoothly; the process, the interviews, etc that I was destined for this. And thank you everyone who was praying for me!

The group of people I'm working with are all around my age, and are all friendly and helpful. The company is solid, and has a good culture and cares about their employees. This is great.

The transition has been a little rough but I'm getting used to it. I was used to going to bed whenever I wanted (usually around 4am) for the past year and a half, and getting out of bed whenever I felt like it (noon? 1pm? no prob!).
Now I'm working 9am-6pm M-F (with an hour lunch in there), tho it takes me roughly 40 min to get to work in the mornings and 45-50 min to get home, so a lot of my time each day is eaten up by the commitment to this job. Ick. :-/
Going to bed before midnight is new to me... in fact being in bed by 11 is almost mandatory to make sure I get enough sleep. I'm working on getting adjusted to the new sleep-cycle tho.

Hopefully by Feb 1st I will have located & secured an apartment in the Owings Mills/Reisterstown area and be moving into it. That will cut down my commute time drastically, down to only 5-15 min each way, depending on the exact location.
Before then, I'd like swap my car with something more enjoyable, and I've set my sights once again on the PT Cruiser.
After Windows 7 drops at the end of the month I'm going to buy a powerful desktop computer (then dual boot Ubuntu Linux on it).
And either this weekend or this coming week I'm going to buy the Samsung Rogue, the same cell phone Sara has.

10.02.2009

"Dear Die-ary,

There's nothing terribly wrong with feeling lost, so long as that feeling precedes some plan on your part to actually do something about it.

Too often a person grows complacent with their disillusionment, perpetually wearing their "discomfort" like a favorite shirt.

I can't say I'm very pleased with where my life [was] just now...

But I can't help but look forward to where it's going."

--Johnny, Johnny The Homicial Maniac

As usually, Nny & I agree! =)
A post on my new job is forthcoming...

9.24.2009

Rainbow

Amazingly bright & clear rainbow outside of Joe's apartment yesterday. [It was actually much more defined than my cell phone camera depicts here.]

I went down to Raleigh to visit Joe and while I was down there... I got the call that I got the job at T. Rowe Price I had interviewed for the previous Monday! =D

9.17.2009

Vamps

Everyone should know by now how much I love vampires and vampire lore. There are many reasons for that, some aren't obvious. ;P

I tend to like most of the 'original' lore, and severely judge any vampire movies'/shows'/stories' mythos against it, and my personal perceptions of what vampires 'should be like'.
I enjoy gothic, pretty vampires stuff (like Underworld), but I'm fascinated with the idea of intelligent yet monster-like vampires, like the ones in the movie & comic book series 30 Days of Night. Beasty.
Vampires that sparkle is a HELL NO!
Vampires in daylight without deadly effects is also a NO.
But I won't go listing everything out. Instead, some pop vampire reviews...


Buffy the Vampire Slayer was cheesy. Fun, but cheesy. I enjoyed it as much as I loathed it. Hehe, ironic ay? It was goofy at times, and often Joss Whedon's personal platform for expressing modern, fad ideas. But it was long running and well... Spike was awesome (at least, when he wasn't being wimpy in-love emo, blegh!).
Unfortunately, I've lost even MORE respect for Joss Whedon's "original" ideas after recently reading the comic book series Preacher by Garth Ennis & Steve Dillon. It's so blatantly obvious that Whedon got the idea for Spike's character from Preacher's own Irish-vampire-badboy-loner "Cassidy", which predates Buffy by a few years. Cassidy even goes emo-wimpy for a little while over the main chick in the books, much like Whedon would have Spike do many years later in Buffy.
[As much as I worship Firefly for being awesome, once you see Cowboy Bebop you'll lose respect for Whedon's "original" ideas too.]


I just watched the first episode of the new series The Vampire Diaries, which airs on The CW Network (ugh!). The first 10 min were so bad I almost turned it off and gave up. I'm kinda glad I didn't. It forces the high school scene on the viewer, undoubtedly to capture the attention of the young audience (and obviously anyone who enjoyed the movie Twilight). The acting is mediocre.
There are certain character traits and acting that reek of Buffy, and that's probably not good. The main chick acts and sounds a lot like Faith from Buffy (currently the main character of Dollhouse, FYI, who can only act one part regardless of her dress), and the main vampire guy looks and acts exactly like Nicholas Brendon (who played Xander -- imagine Xander as a vampire & less of a dork).

It was killing me to see the vampire in the daylight... no pain, no flame, no flinching... until near the end of the episode while talking to his vampire brother (who's a little sinister, yay!) it's revealed that they have rings that protect them from the deadly effects of sunlight. Yes!! You've explained why they can be in the daylight safely, and used an oft-referenced mythological trinket (a ring, a talisman, etc). This is good.
The brother, being more accepting of his state of being, feeds on humans, has a black crow follow him around, and conjures up fog. Classic vampire traits, good job!
They also showed the lead vampire unable to enter the lead chick's home until she invited him in; as well as being able to influence a person (a la Jedi Mind Trick hypnosis) -- both classic vampire characteristics.
The lead vampire has been repressing his urges to feed on human blood & such, and is sensitive to blood and seemingly other things... which start to revert him into "monster" mode. [The show is doing what Buffy did, vampire's faces go wrinkly/evil when they get the bloodlust.]
I think if I can suffer through the typical high school kiddie drama scenes I'll be able to watch & enjoy The Vampire Diaries. If it gets too heavy on the kiddie drama or goes too emo... it'll bomb for me. I'm perceiving it as Buffy-lite, without the cheese. ;P


After writing the above review, I watched the first episode of True Blood. This is based on a series of books, and airs on HBO, so it's more adult in the content (as typical of HBO shows, there was a sex scene in the 1st episode to remind you "We can do stuff normal cable shows can't." Heh.). Acting was very good overall. The accents & characters are perfectly convincing for a Louisiana setting. The plot develops slowly (it's an over-arching mystery series), which I'm fine with -- no need to throw every possible detail at the viewer in episode one.
Anna Paquin to me was not a good Rogue in X-Men. However as a blonde girl-next-door with mind-reading abilities in this, I can fathom.
Here, vampires can't be in daylight (this was referred to), drink only blood, are very strong (get stronger over time so elder vampires are strongest), and can't seem to enter a home without permission. Good, good.
Silver is debilitating to vampires in this mythos and burns them; normally that's a trait of werewolves. However, this was mentioned & explained as a weakness in the episode (even joked the comparison with werewolves, not that they exist here).

Two things bug me in True Blood:
1.) Publicly aware vampire organization... as if they are "mutants" a la X-Men. They're retaining the mystery of what they are & can do, but I'm not crazy about the idea of them being a "group" in society, asking for equal rights. That takes away the essence of their mystery of existence.
2.) The portrayed fangs are the wrong teeth. Fangs are the 3rd pair of teeth from the middle: the 'eyeteeth' aka 'canines' and not the 2nd incisors, as seen in this show. Yikes!

Synthetic blood developed in Japan is available at your local quickie-mart & served at your favorite bar, ensuring no vampires have to feed on humans. Ok, plausible idea if vampires are publicly known.
Vampire draining and selling the blood as a sense-enhancing drug is an idea I've seen before in Serenity Rose, a comic book, and also plausible. [In that comic book vampires are monsters/beasts and taking too much of a hit will turn you into a monster shortly thereafter.]

I'm definitely going to keep watching True Blood. It's not a riveting, attention-capturing show with cliff-hangers and major vampire actions abounding so that I havta see the next episode... but it is a curiosity for me, a glimpse into this little 'verse. Something interesting.

9.11.2009

"Famous Last Words"

By Billy Joel

Sitting here in Avalon, looking at the pouring rain.
Summertime has come and gone, and everybody's home again.
Closing down for the season I found the last of the souvenirs.
I can still taste the wedding cake, and it's sweet after all these years.

These are the last words I have to say, that's why it took so long to write.
There will be other words some other day, but that's the story of my life--

There's comfort in my coffee cup, and apples in the early Fall,
They're pulling all the moorings up, and gathering at the Legion hall.
Swept away all the streamers after the Labor Day parade,
There's nothing left for a dreamer now only one final serenade.

And these are the last words I have to say, before another age goes by
With all those other songs I have to play, but that's the story of my life.

And it's so clear
Standing here
Where I am.
Ain't that what justice is for?
Frankly my dear,
I don't give a damn any more.

Stack the chairs on the tabletops, hang the sheets on the chandeliers.
It slows down but it never stops, ain't it sweet after all these years?

And these are the last words I have to say, it's always hard to say goodbye.
But now it's time to put this book away, ain't that the story of my life?

9.07.2009

Epics

Happy Labor Day weekend?
Sunday night I was able to join my guild to run 2 quarters of Naxxaramas... a higher-end 10-man raid. Four of us were new to the place, so I'm glad the better players were nice enough to run us. They wanted to get us better gear so we'd be better for more raids.

I scored a new Epic ring, and a new Epic staff, which I really needed. =)
The staff is actually a floor candelabra with floating candlesticks... it looks like I stole a candlestick holder from the place! ;P

Then tonight I was invited (by our guild leader) to a group for 25-man Ulduar [currently the endgame raid!] but there were only 12 of us, and most of us were under-geared. However, each time we got the first boss, Flame Leviathan, down to 12% of his health... but we wiped every time. Should've done the 10-man version (which, obviously, would be easier)... as before long 1 person had disconnected, and another had to leave anyway.

Last week Stevo & I won a third of the 2-vs-2 games we played. That's a huge increase to losing every match! ;P

9.05.2009

New website location

I've used Geocities for my personal websites since high school... 1998. At some point Yahoo bought up Geocities, and started changing things, mostly integrating Yahoo crap into Geocities [yuck], like every big corporation does when they acquire a small company that runs well by itself.
Now Yahoo is closing Geocities entirely come the end of October. However, you can sign up for a limited access Yahoo web hosting for just $... ha, never will I ever... ;P

Friends of mine have been using AngelFire for as long as I've used Geocities [may it rest in peace: 11 years of good service], so I've moved my hub of a website over there.
Please update your bookmarks; ya know, if you actually have my site bookmarked. ^_^

9.02.2009

Synesthesia

Synesthesia? What is that?!

This.
I FINALLY found information on the way things work in my head! I'm not actually crazy! ...or at least, not alone.
Previously I attributed my way of thinking, cross-associations, visual memory, and music "hallucinations" to an over-active imagination. Now I know it's a documented, real pathology.


"Synesthesia is a neurologically based phenomenon in which stimulation of one sensory or cognitive pathway leads to automatic, involuntary experiences in a second sensory or cognitive pathway."
  1. Synesthesia is involuntary and automatic.
  2. Synesthetic perceptions are spatially extended, meaning they often have a sense of "location." For example, synesthetes speak of "looking at" or "going to" a particular place to attend to the experience.
  3. Synesthetic percepts are consistent and generic (i.e., simple rather than pictorial).
  4. Synesthesia is highly memorable.
  5. Synesthesia is laden with affect.

It explains all of the things in my head:

Grapheme --> Color Synesthesia
"...individual letters of the alphabet and numbers (collectively referred to as graphemes), are "shaded" or "tinged" with a color."
When I see words and especially numbers in my head, they are immediately colored text.

Sound --> Color Synesthesia
"...voice, music, and assorted environmental sounds such as clattering dishes or dog barks trigger color and simple shapes that arise, move around, and then fade when the sound stimulus ends. For some, the stimulus type is limited (e.g., music only, or even just a specific musical key); for others, a wide variety of sounds triggers synesthesia."
When I listen to music, particularly rhythmic music (especially swing), and particuarly played with brass instruments (especially trumpets; again swing & ska) I see colors and shapes and lines dancing around in my head, usually projected in the space in front & a little above my head. It's almost as if the notes themselves are dancing to how they are being played.
Trip-hop music (Hooverphonic, Massive Attack, Portishead) doesn't do that, but has a different effect I can't easily describe... it's more of a combination of emotion plus mathematical calculations going on... I'm weird, I know!

Number Form Synesthesia
"A number form is a mental map of numbers, which automatically and involuntarily appears whenever someone who experiences number-forms thinks of numbers."
I've always pictured numbers in my head as a sequence along an elevated line, with elevation-resets at every decade (at 20, at 30, etc) as the last couple of numbers per decade (the 7s, 8s, 9s) curve downward. But when counting by skipping (counting every other number, or at every 5) the numbers I'm aiming for are larger before I call them out. This mental map was true when I learned to count in Spanish in elementary school, as well as learning to count in French in middle school.
I have also always pictured a calendar in my head as a squished, lopsided oval. January is at the top, months working counterclockwise down to July & August sharing the fattened bottom, and working up to Dec near the top.
To count hours (How many hours until dinner?) I have to picture a clock face and go around it.


This phenomenon also explains why I instantly memorize numbers when I hear or read them: "What has been confirmed is elevated, sometimes photographic, memory." When I read, I don't just remember the information, I remember the layout of the pages. Though not actual photographic memory (I can't read the text of the pages in my head), it is involuntary and elevated memory.

Involuntarily memorizing numbers is something that actually got very annoying in the job I had right after college because I was often inputting research projects' financial information into databases, and I could accurately tell you who's budget was what, out of several hundred projects! I spent a good deal of effort consciously trying not to let numbers get lodged in my head.


I guess I'm not any less weird or crazy now, but I'm fascinated that I'm not alone.
Reading through that article creeped me out at points when I had the revelations of "That's me!"

BrickFair '09 and Beach Again

BrickFair '09 was lots of fun, as expected. My coz Joe was the Castle Coordinator, and also hosted a round table discussion on landscaping scenes & building them.
We hung out with our NCLUG friends, and I finally met Sandy -- fun guy. We had a rivalry: his Brickistan set up -vs- Joe's pizza shire. We even had a turn-based war on our landscape Sunday afternoon during public hours. >:-]
Stevo came down for all of Saturday, and that was great. ^_^
I took 150-some photos and they are on my laptop, so if you want to see them, just ask.
From what I heard during clean-up, a lot of people really loved my pirate spaceship. I guess I should've hung out around the Space area instead of only in the Castle area.

After getting home Monday late morning, I did laundry and repacked to join my Family on Long Beach Island, NJ -- the beach where we've been going on vacation for *twenty* years now! That's always fun & relaxing, but I could only stay till Thursday. =(
Two beach trips in 2 weeks gave me a nice little tan, a healthy slight bronzing. ;P

I came back and went out with Sara, who traded her old Nissan 240 for for cousin's '92 Mazda Miata (red with black interior, mods, & stick shift of course). We drove around with the top down, got Chick-Fil-A, walked around the mall, headed into Baltimore for ice cream... She let me drive it from Bmore to my house.
I had my eyes set on Miatas since they came out in the early 90's, though now I *really* do. ;P

8.20.2009

"It's within walking distance" and "We'll do it tomorrow"

Sunday thru Wed, Stevo and I headed over to Dewey Beach, DE to stay with his friend Corey (whom we had stayed with 2 summers ago in a different place). His girlie friend Regina was there too, and she was cool too. His place this summer was very nice, and his roommates had already moved out, so I had a room entirely to myself, AC and all.

Corey has been playing WoW a long long time like Stevo, so during all of our downtime between going out, or just late at night, you could find us in front of our computers set up in the kitchen-area. ^_^

Dewey Beach is like 30 min north of the boardwalk in Ocean City, but on the same island. Five min away from the Rehoboth Outlets, which we of course went to.

Naturally we went to the beach. The water wasn't cold, but the waves were wimpy. I like diving into waves and playing around among the crashing of large waves. Almost drowing a couple of times as a kid has had the opposite effect you'd expect: I've become semi-fearless in the water. ;P

The 4 of us went to see a magician-comedian-ventriloquist named Gemini perform on Wed night. He was very very good, in all aspects. Very nice guy also.
We had walked 8-10 blocks to get there because it was nice out. Afterwards there was a summer thunderstorm, and we ran back in the heavy rain. We were soaked thru and thru. Yuck. But it made for a fun memory. ^_^


One night Stevo & I headed down to the OC boardwalk. Later that night we decided to try something fun & different: drunken WoW playing. So we nearly polished off a bottle of Bacardi Dragonberry mixed with Sprite while playing... things got really silly very quickly. =)

Stevo helped me fight in a Roman coliseum type of series of fights in Zul'drak (I can't solo it, but Stevo could normally do it all by himself) -- he died several times and it was hilarious! ;P
I got up the next morning and logged on before going to the beach. My character had 800 more hit points (significant increase!) than I had early the previous night. At first I couldn't remember what happened, aside from the drinking hehe... it was one of those moments you might hear certain people say the morning after getting wasted: "Where is my cellphone?" "Where did I leave my car?" "Who did I wake up next to??" LOL... except this was all digital & safe.
[I had gotten an upgrade to my staff and crafted a new helm which was also a sweet upgrade.]


During the week (not drunk) Stevo & I started an Arena team and lost every match we entered. :-/ Partially it was because I don't have as good of gear as I should for Arena PvP (I'm working on that), and partially because we're new to working together and still have a bit to learn about working together.
Speaking of learning, I learned SO MUCH about high-end WoW playing this week from Corey & Stevo's combined knowledge. =)
We also played a lot of the PvP Battlegrounds, and I accumulated enough Honor Points to buy 2 pieces of Epic [purple] gear! [Epic is the best you can get.]


Oh I love PvP / It gets me E-P-I-C!
[Sharm, The PvP Song]

8.19.2009

How To Be A Villain

I bought this book! >:-] Then Stevo bought one called The Evolution Of God... oh the irony!

8.14.2009

80!

Last night after dinner I hit level 80 in WoW!
That's 80 levels in the course of 3 months... 18 days "/played". At least I accomplished something this summer with all of my late, late nights. Did you? ;P

Then I started to play the PvP Battlegrounds... ooh that's fun! Capture the Flag, King of the Hill, Assault the Base-style gameplay, some with vehicles & cannons. Reminds me a lot of Unreal Tournament 2004. Somewhat chaotic, but lots o' fun. B-)


Unfortunately, I had to leave the guild I had been in... the people running it became very clique-ish and snippy. Someone got demoted just for suggesting they let someone into the guild. Not cool. 'Acting rather like high school... and I know some of them were grown men. I don't participate or hang around drama in real life, so I'm definitely not going to in a game.

The friendly & nice friends I had made I still talk to, we've added each other to our Friends List [think AOL IM chat; in fact, Stevo & I sometimes log on to the game just to chat, hehe] so that's nice. I enjoy the social aspect. [Of course, just like in real life, I don't need a zillion friends, I prefer to have a few close ones whom I've known for a long time.]

'Enlisted in the Argent Tournament events, so I'm questing thru that. I think I'm doing it mostly for the titles that I can add to my name. And for some gold. ;P
Stevo created us an Arena team, for 2-vs-2 Arenas, and titled it "Back to the Future".
/geekout. ;P

8.12.2009

*Lego Pirate Spaceship Part III

So the ship is done. Check out all 12 photos in my relevant Brickshelf folder.
I even made 4 fighter-jet sized [at micro scale] space fighter ships to go along with it.

Pirate Spaceship -- a space freighter stolen by well-organized, affluent pirates. It was converted to be these pirates' flagship, serving as both a command center and a master loot holder.

Stats:
2' 6.5" long X 12" wide X 9" tall (including support stands)
10 hours to build (estimated)
Main plates and many detail pieces came from the Lego Eiffel Tower, set #10181.

Weaponry:
1 main energy cannon, on top, 180 degree lateral rotation with a little elevated aiming also.
2 capital ship-class energy blasters, on either side of the front.
4 quad-energy blaster turrets, 2 on each side, with 360x180 degree rotation.
2 tri-energy blaster turrets, underside, with 360x180 degree rotation.
1 dual-energy blaster turret, behind the control cockpit.

Large cargo bay which doubles as a hangar bay; safe entry from underside.
The front of the ship (the mostly red with black parts) houses a separate energy generator to power the front capital ship-class guns & main cannon on top. This section in an emergency can detach from the body of the ship, and has concealed thrusters to push it along. This feature is saved as a drastic measure of rocketing the entire front into an enemy capital ship after setting the energy generator to overload -- making it a giant bomb.

8.03.2009

*Lego Pirate Spaceship Part II

It's coming along well. I popped off the top tonight and added vertical support 'pylons' on the inside -- it's much more structurally sound now.

I created a folder on my Brickshelf account for this space pirate ship. Black and grey ["bley" actually, hehe] themed by default. Red as a tertiary color because it's in abundance.
The 5th picture shows the huge energy cannon (turret) I just made. And at the bottom you can see one of four identical quad-turrets for the sides of the ship.
The inside of the 'neck' now contains a reactor/generator/energy-conduit with a hinged top so it can be seen at BrickFair.

Still need to build the front (aka the 'head'), and the top of the back where the command center will be. Then supports to elevate it for display, and so I can add underside turrets and cargo bay opens that open downward (I guess).

Only 2 weeks till BrickFair '09!

[I was listening to "Turret Top Boogie", instrumental swing, by Blue Sky 5 as I wrote this.]

8.01.2009

75

I hit 75 the other night. It's taking longer & longer to level. But I have a dragon I can fly on in one specific zone, so that's made questing in that area go more smoothly.

I leveled up my Tailoring skill to 410 a week ago and made myself -- a Flying Carpet! [2 links to 2 screenshots for ya!] It's very cool, even has circular lanterns hanging off the 4 corners. Perfect to distinguish the ego-maniacal Warlock from his/her boring, common Gryphon-riding peers. >:-] My character stands on it, in a surfing position; she doesn't sit. Very cool. B-)

At 77 I can buy Cold Weather Flying training and use my Flying Carpet in Northrend, the land of the second expansion pack where I've been questing since 69 on route to 80.

I can't wait to hit 80!


I deleted those alts [alternate characters] I had made. Stevo and I might start playing Battlegrounds in the level 10-19 bracket, and so might make characters to level them to 19 just for that. I'm thinking a rogue, with all the stealth & high DPS damage output [DPS -- Damage Per Second], would be a good choice. Night Elf or Human tho? ':-)

7.30.2009

*Lego Pirate Spaceship Part I

'Thought blogging this might be interesting to a few people (Joe, Stevo...).
I'm attempting to build a large spaceship in Lego. Something much larger than I've built before. Not HUGE, but large.
And since it'll be a hodge-podge of pieces (loose color them? I HOPE), making the theme be of space pirates with a cobbled-together ship works well. ;P

I may not be able to do it with the pieces I have -- I have a decent sized collection, but I often over-estimate it. And I don't want to compromise and make a small ship. I has to be bigger than the ship I built for my Lego stop motion videos: The Raven.

I'm picking out necessary structural pieces now. I'll lay out the frame and after that I'll be able to tell if I have sufficient large plates to cover the frame.
Details are my thing, so that'll never be a problem. I just opened up the Lego Eiffel Tower, who's ~3500 pieces should provide a great resource for detaily bits.

A pic or two in the next post about it!

If all else fails, I still want to do the Pizza Production Tower to go next to Joe's Pizza Shire castle.

7.19.2009

He was doomed...!

Pearls Before Swine

Yeah, I love Pearls Before Swine. You know that already. ^_^

7.16.2009

70!

A couple of weeks ago I was promoted in my guild to Rank 2, a kind of VIP "officer" status, a rank above the ordinary players. I was honored. =)
I'm the only high-level Warlock in the guild, and pretty much the only active one.

I installed Wrath of the Lich King last night, the second expansion pack to WoW. [The refund for the glitched GPS I had bought cleared.]


I headed to the new continent, where the content is for higher level characters.
Soon after I leveled up to 70! Just 10 more levels to go...
Then I went back to The Outlands and bought a black gryphon, flying mount. I can fly! ^_^


I started 3 new characters, just to see what they're like (I don't plan on playing them much at all, at least until Zy hits 80):

Vordac
-- a human Death Knight. DKs start at lv55 instead of lv1, in a special zone with special lore, and that's very atmospheric & cool.
The name is an homage to King Graham's wizard nemesis Mordac, from the King's Quest series. I've used the name in other games (like Morrowind) for my evil spellcasters. ;P

Vorpalshade
-- a night elf Rogue. Rogues are the nemeses of Warlocks in PvP, so I'd like to learn more about them. Plus the stealth and burst attacks seem fun, and are very different from Warlock playstyle.
The Vorpal Blade is the sword used to slay The Jabberwocky in Alice in Wonderland. "Vorpal" basically means "deadly". And Rogues hide in the shades and shadows...

Zymoonelune -- a night elf Druid. Always liked the idea of shapeshifting.


When I Level Up / I'm gonna have gear / People will fear / That I will duel them / When I Level Up / Achievements done / Titles won / I'll be a Champion!
When I Level Up / Arena time! / Welfare's mine! / I'll be in Deadly. / When I Level Up / I'll be ruthless / Just to progress / Cuz everyone'll let me!
I know it won't be much longer till I hit 80 / Til' I hit 80 / Til' I hit 80!
I know it won't be much longer till I hit 80 / Til' I hit 80 / Til' I hit 80!
[Sharm, When I Level Up]

7.05.2009

DC 4th

I know where I am, where are you? ':-)

4th of July, last minute idea: go to DC for the fireworks.
Sara had come over for dinner cause something was wrong with her car and she was driving up from Annapolis and nearby anyway (turns out her tire was shredding so we had to swap it).
After dinner & dessert with my Aunt & Uncle, we changed the tire and spontaneously decided to head down to DC instead of going to boring old Baltimore. ;P
We saw some fireworks as we entered the city, and on the Metro ride from CUA while still above ground. [I knew it would be easier to park at CUA and ride in than trying to drive into downtown, and it was.]

We got off at Metro Center and started walking toward The Mall & Washington Monument. We noticed more and more people walking the opposite direction. Yep, we missed the big show. That was totally okay by us, it was a nice night (not hot or humid) so we walked to the Lincoln Memorial [pictured above]. The beauty of this is that 95% of the people that had been on The Mall that night were all leaving as we arrived. =)

We hung out there for a while, I took some photos cause I had snagged my camera right as we left.
Sara started getting nervous about missing the last Metro, but I know they run really late on weekends. We caught one at 12:30am back to my car and headed home.

I logged on to WoW and my guildmates who were on were talking about their 4th of July and were all jealous I had I been in DC. ;P

It was so nice to go out on a Saturday night. ^_^

6.25.2009

WoW-zers

I hit level 61 with my Warlock last night.
In the afternoon I hit 60 in Stormwind (I love the Midsummer Festival events & their XP!) and immediately bought up all the available new spells (upgrades mostly) for the 'locks at 60.

Then I spent the Talent Point on the last talent in the Demonology tree: Metamorphosis.
For 30 seconds at a time, every 2 min, I can turn into a big hulking black&purple demon-gargoyle with wings, upping my spell damage 20% (significant!), basically doubling my armor, and gives me some momentary new spells, including putting out a powerful aura of fire destruction.
My Felguard and I are beasty!
I like walking around the city and popping into demon-form just for the hell of it. ;P
>:-]

I think I'm going to go with this build: 20/51/0. I'm already 51 deep in Demonology and firmly staying there. Deep Demonology may not be the highest DPS for Warlocks, but it's the most versatile. And contribution from 20 in Affliction will be more beneficial than going into Destruction.
Stevo is excited about us ganging up to do 2v2 PvP (2-vs-2 Player-vs-Player arena competitions) and has me excited about it too. I need to get to level 80! Of course, 2v2 is really 3v2 cause I have my minions... >:-]


I bought the first expansion to WoW, The Burning Crusade, last week. Earlier this week, when I was ~level 59, I headed to The Dark Portal to go to Outland, the new world added in the expansion. A very cool experience! B-)
The monetary and item rewards for quests there are far better than in the original 2 continents, so I ditched all of the open quests I had back there and I'm not looking back ;P


Hitting all of the bonfires around Azeroth (both continents) for The Midsummer Festival made me level up two full levels. Nice!
I've gotten several Achievements (they're like the ones the Xbox360 has) from the Festival already, but I probably won't be able to get the final master Achievement by the time it's over (4th of July)... I haven't gotten around all of Outland (or even most of it) to hit the bonfires there... and I don't have the other expansion to do the juggling thing, yet.
I did get the cool fiery outfit, but now I need more of the Festival currency (special torches) to buy the special non-combat pet: a floating red ball of fire. I think that would be pretty cool to have following my Warlock. B-)

6.19.2009

*No Doubt, Banachek

My sister and I saw No Doubt play at the Nissan Pavilion on Sunday. She had gotten free lawn tickets, and it was a nice night. No Doubt put on a helluva good show! So much energy!
Unfortunately we missed Paramore opening for them because of TWO EXTRA HOURS of traffic on top of the hour and a half to get there. The traffic was the last 15 miles to the place, all the way in. And it was nasty traffic getting out -- the traffic cops were just sitting around not directing traffic or making a good flow. Ugh.
Worth it to see No Doubt? Hell yeah!
Ever going back to Nissan Pavilion? Hell no!

We got late night McDonalds on the way home and reminisced about NY and getting late night McDonalds with Uncle Ray. ^_^


Monday night I met Stevo at Denny's Magic Shop for a magic lecture by Banachek. Good lecture! Aside from good tricks and material learned, he has a lot of knowledge & stories and didn't have enough time to share it all. But the lecture was 3-4 hours long, which is very cool because a number of lectures the group of us have gone to in the past 6-9 months ["69 months?" "No, 6 TO 9 months..."] have been short, and content-wise disappointing.
I got to see & learn more mentalism, Stevo got to see more metal bending. We're happy. ^_^
He & I hit up a Double T Diner afterwards for a bite. It was fun to just hang out with Steve, as we haven't done that in ages. (Ocean City? Yes...)

Because there were twice as many magicians there as normal (75 instead of 30-35) and none we wanted to associate with, we spent a bit of time before & after commenting to ourselves on the state of magicians in Baltimore. Eek! If you are 50-100 lbs overweight, are egotistical, desperate for attention, with few-to-no friends and a one-upmanship complex... you'd fit in with the Baltimore magicians.
It's no surprise that any of the few magicians that were good had left Baltimore to get known (like Aaron Fisher). So pathetic.
It's like Jason always said -- we had more talent & skill with sleights and performing in the first year of learning magic than these guys have in decades of it. QTF!
Of course, even if we arrive not slicked to the nines, the guys who work with Denny know us by name and call us "The Rat Pack of Magic". We were given that title [Spencer, Jason, Stevo & I] because we'd usually show up in lounge shirts, slacks, and wingtip shoes. We're mellowing out nowadays, but still always looking snazzier than anyone else. B-)

6.09.2009

WoW

I've been playing World of Warcraft for almost a month now. My character is at the moment Level 44 (out of 80). It is a lot of fun. =)

Here's a little insight into my mind:

* Why the name?
Spencer & I were watching a movie a month ago and lost in the credits I saw the name. Thought that would make a cool spell-caster name. Unfortunately WoW doesn't let spaces in the names (nor apostrophes) but I wanted a last name of "Jinx" (a la "Diavo Jinx").

* Why female?
I figured if I'm gonna stare at something for hours upon hours, do I want it to be a buff guy, or a hot chick? Yeah...

* Why Warlock?
Spells + summoned minions to fight with me. I'm never alone! Plus the spells are about tormenting targets, not direct instant damage. >:-] A playstyle very different than usual RPG mages. Kind of hints at JTHM in the back of my mind... ;P


Right now I'm racing to get to Level 50. Since I'm spending all of my Talent Points in the Demonology tree, at Level 50 I'll be able to summon a new deadly minion, the Felguard. And he can only be acquired by this manner.

After that, it's a race to Level 61, where I acquire the ability to turn into a demon for a moment, for super-attack-ability. [Metamorphosis, the last box on the Demonology tree.] However, I'll need to buy the first expansion, Burning Crusade, to level up past 60. Then the second expansion to go from 71-80 [max].

After that... max out at 80 and enjoy it!
Then start a new character on the bad guy's side (Horde) simultaneously with Stevo? ':-)

5.29.2009

My Ransacked Car

Last night (5am this morning) I left Spencer's house and walked around to his driveway to discover... someone had broken into my car!! In the rain! >:-/
They didn't break any windows, or vandalize the car at all. But they took everything out of the glove box, center console, and other misc holding areas and tossed it about. They yanked the wires to my neon lights (fortunately I was able to rewire them today -- no permanent damage).

What was stolen from me:
* My TomTom GPS and its mount -- from the center console, hidden away from any passer-by's gaze
* My Sony mp3 player [see last post] -- from the center console also hidden away
* My Jabra Bluetooth earpiece -- in my glasses case which was stuffed in the car door's pocket
* A few quarters & loose change, plus 5 $1 bills in the center console

SO mad.

Sara said it's good I didn't catch 'em in the act, or I might've killed 'em. I might have -- there's a large brick wall right there and I can see myself in a red-hazed rage smashing his head over & over into it...
"If you can read this, you're probably not dead yet." --Nny


There was a thunderstorm & downpour this afternoon. Fit my mood perfectly. And when it ended I felt a little better.

I ordered a new Sony mp3 player from BestBuy & did in-store pickup today. It's 8Gb up from 4Gb, a little lighter, has a few extra features, slightly larger screen. Cost a little less than what I paid for the other one a year & a half ago. I feel a little better "recovering" something lost.
Can't really afford a new GPS at the moment too, but I can borrow my dad's if I need to.

At least only a couple of mere 'things' were taken, and nothing was done to my car. Again, not a window broken.
Still, makes you feel unsafe.

I popped my DOOM mix cd while I drove to/from BestBuy. Very fitting.

5.27.2009

*Another Multi-part Update

!.) Went down to Raleigh last week to visit with my coz Joe. Fun times as always, tho too short. Got to hang out with my NCLUG friends too, who were happy to see me. ^_^ Ate good Italian food at every meal (and as always at least one trip to Schiano's is mandatory!).
Driving home Thurs afternoon took a full hour longer than it should have (from DC thru MD) because it was the begining of Memorial Day weekend and it seems everyone got out of work early Thursday afternoon, grrrr.

@.) Saw Star Trek on the IMAX while in NC. Good stuff. Definitely didn't feel like Star Trek, and if you change all of the names of the characters, ships, planets & races, they could've kicked off an entirely different and NEW sci-fi Universe/series.
Still, very good movie. And once again Star Trek uses the time travel cop-out. ;P It was cool to know that Geordi La Forge designed Spock's special ship, but that fact was not even seen on a plaque on the ship. :-/
It will be interesting to see how they top it with the next one (a script is already being written).

#.) Bought and have been playing World of Warcraft! In fact I've not just playing with Stevo, but I was invited into a very friendly (chatty) & helpful guild -- which has made playing a lot more fun, even when I'm soloing.
I'll start new, separate posts about my adventures in WoW...

$.) Sunday afternoon my sister & bro-in-law came over. Frederic & I installed my new Sony Xplod car stereo. While I could've done it myself, it was definitely more fun with someone, particuarly someone who has installed car stereos before.
It looks good, with red glowing buttons & a bluish-grey screen that doesn't have any ugly gfx. Much better than the stock Saturn stereo's amber lighting scheme, which IMO looks cheap.
And now I can plug in my mp3 player into my car, for quickly added playlists & new songs without burning & using up CDs. ^_^
Frederic also brought over his Sony Xplod rear speakers to see if I could use 'em. They're in box frames, very nice, but too big for the rear deck. And since Saturn can't manufacture anything standard, my stock speakers are round and not oval like the standard.
So we put them in the trunk, up against the rear seats. Cut the rear speaker wires (looks like they had been swapped back in already) and hook 'em up to the new speakers. With a little tweaking of the output & fader settings of the stereo we got them sounding good & not muffled. And they have better bass than the stock rear speakers, as I tested that with some ska/reggae songs for their bass lines. B-)

5.08.2009

*Quick Update

1.) Been reading books on mentalism, mind tricks, mental-magic tricks, and general applied psychology & psychological subtleties. I've read 30-40 books in 2 weeks. Information cons00m!

2.) X-Men Origins: Wolverine was good & action packed. Worth seeing. But they f***ed up Deadpool's character entirely, and we're all mad about that! Deadpool has become my new favorite Marvel character, since a few months ago. I've been reading thru the "Cable and Deadpool" series, and playing him in Marvel Ultimate Alliance.

3.) Yes Man was a good Jim Carey movie. He gets to be funny without being stupid like his stuff from 10 years ago. Good message too. Zooey Deschanel (played Trillian in Hitchhiker's Guide...) is a total chick, Diavo style. ^_^

d.) Replaced the 'purple' neon lights in my car with nice blue ones. Put the transparent blue die [singular of dice, FYI] shift knob from my PT Cruiser on. Then ran a blue LED up the shift stick to illuminate the entire die -- looks sweet cause it just glows up. B-)
Put the other blue LED on the back of the center console pointing down to give a little glow to the back seats' floor area.
A while ago I installed 2 green neon lights in my trunk, so my trunk glows entirely green when open.
I love neon lights. ^_^

5.) Gonna get a new car stereo (a Sony Xplod) and install it myself. I've got instructions on doing it in my Saturn, so it won't be difficult, just take time. The reason I'm doing this is to get the front aux input, so I can play my mp3 player and not be limited to just playing CDs. I'm spending less than $100 on this project.

VI.) Gonna download and play the 10 Day Free Trial of World of Warcraft. Playing with Stevo next week, who's been playing WoW for years. Will I keep playing it? We'll see...

7.) Anticipating going down to Raleigh to visit my coz Joe soon, in a week or two...! =)

8.) The 2 scents of deodorant I switch between are called Afterhours (which I've used for years now) and Showtime. Damn that marketing worked on me. ;P

4.28.2009

INTJ aka Mastermind

In my quest to learn about why I am the way I am & how my own brain functions, I took an online Myers-Briggs personality test.

My result is INTJ:
Introverted -- "slightly" at 11%
iNtuitive -- "moderately" at 38%
Thinking -- "moderately" at 38%
Judging -- "distinctively" at 67%


Here are the links provided for this result's description:
Rational Portrait of the Mastermind (INTJ)
Introverted iNtuitive Thinking Judging

So much of what is said in those two articles is very true. Neither is too long, so g'head and give 'em a read if you want to learn more about my brain. The only major thing that I don't fit in with is the lack of or apathy toward interpersonal skills -- I'm still very social.


"Masterminds are rare, comprising no more than, say, one percent of the population, and they are rarely encountered outside their office, factory, school, or laboratory. Although they are highly capable leaders, Masterminds are not at all eager to take command, preferring to stay in the background until others demonstrate their inability to lead. Once they take charge, however, they are thoroughgoing pragmatists. Masterminds are certain that efficiency is indispensable in a well-run organization, and if they encounter inefficiency-any waste of human and material resources-they are quick to realign operations and reassign personnel. Masterminds do not feel bound by established rules and procedures, and traditional authority does not impress them, nor do slogans or catchwords. Only ideas that make sense to them are adopted; those that don't, aren't, no matter who thought of them. Remember, their aim is always maximum efficiency." --Rational Portrait of the Mastermind (INTJ)


To help understand, here's a list of people you might recognize who are/were also Masterminds:
Alan Greenspan
Frideriche Nietsche
Niels Bohr
Peter the Great
Stephen Hawking
Sir Isaac Newton
Susan B. Anthony
Augustus Caesar (Gaius Julius Caesar Octavianus)

US Presidents:
Chester A. Arthur
Calvin Coolidge
Thomas Jefferson
General Ulysses S. Grant
Dwight D. Eisenhower
John F. Kennedy
James K. Polk
Woodrow Wilson

Fictional people:
Hannibal Lecter (Silence of the Lambs)
Gandalf the Grey (Lord of the Rings)
Professor Moriarty (Sherlock Holmes' nemesis)

Prof James Moriarty has always been a fascination of mine...! And with Hannibal Lecter on the list, I'm sure Johnny The Homicidal Maniac is also an INTJ (based on his story/life).


So "Mastermind" ay? Introverted, intuitive, thinking and judging. Explains my love for mad scientists, and JTHM... and a lot of what goes on in my head. And my need to design things, and that my desire to design is more important than any desire to create it & see it to completion. Let me design it, from there anyone can do the grunt work & actually implement it. ;P
I'll take this as a compliment. ^_^

It also explains why I've loved this quote from Thoreau since I first heard it in high school:
"If a man does not keep pace with his companions perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him keep step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away."

4.25.2009

New CD Mix

I revised my DOOM mix: the music for the impeding doom of society:

Three Days Grace -- Animal I Have Become
Flobots -- Handlebars
The Offspring -- You're Gonna Go Far, Kid
Save Ferris -- Angry Situation
Weezer -- Troublemaker
Three Days Grace -- Riot
The Offspring -- Stuff Is Messed Up
SR-71 -- All American
Sixx AM -- Life Is Beautiful
Three Days Grace -- It's All Over
Lacuna Coil -- Heaven's A Lie
Electrasy -- Cosmic Castaway
Fall Out Boy -- Thnks Fr Th Mmrs
The Mighty Mighty Bosstones -- I Want My City Back
Stabbing Westward -- Save Yourself
The Offspring -- Original Prankster
Incubus -- Pardon Me
Stabbing Westward -- The Thing I Hate
KMFDM -- Dogma
Three Days Grace -- Get Out Alive
Bear McCreary -- All Along The Watchtower [Battlestar Galactica's sinister version]
Gir -- The Doom Song

4.21.2009

On Creation... but of what?

I dabbled in Adventure Game Studio (after the post talking about doing so). I did the entire tutorial, then started to experiment and add in more content to see how things work.
They work very well.
I also started playing around with drawing things at the appropriate scale for the game I want to make. Animating walking cycles is going to be a b*tch! So is learning a new scripting language. Not learning the commands per se, but learning what's possible & what isn't -- as I tend to get grandiose ideas. ;P
I sketched out some solid ideas for a game based on my webcomic Dream Too Darkly, and location progression. But it would be a serious undertaking to do this.

So instead, I've been drawing new pages for Dream Too Darkly! Check 'em out -- my artistic skill in my sketchy style is definitely improving.
[I'm considering moving D2D from LiveJournal to a blogspot page like this one -- I'd have more control over the layout & jazz.]

4.14.2009

True Psychic Tales #612

[That title is an homage to Psychonauts.]

Saturday night after we closed Illusions, Spencer went upstairs to get changed and Ken was finishing cleaning up. I was left alone with Julie and we were chatting about various things. The last time we talked I promised I'd entertain her and so I did. Oh I did! I truly read her mind.

I simply had her select any random playing card from a deck without me seeing it -- and I had her hold onto it so I couldn't ever. I put the deck on the bar away from us. I had her visualize the card in her mind, then juxtapose the image of the number/letter of the value with the icon of the suit, in the correct color in her imagination. I sensed a darkness and correctly ascertained that she was thinking of a black card. [Ooh, 50-50 shot right? Read on!]
Then in her mind only I had her repeat the name of the card, over & over, over & over. Then saying the name in her mind louder & louder until I was able to start saying it out loud in the same rhythm -- six of clubs, six of clubs, six of clubs...!
She was, of course, amazed that I was able to read her mind, to both of our delight.
We were then doubly-amazed when she showed me the card and it was not the six of clubs but the six of spades.
Even though she had visualized the six of spades, she misnamed it in her head and was saying to herself "six of clubs, six of clubs, six of clubs..."
So I didn't actually know what card was in her hand, I knew what she was thinking in her mind!
=)


So I'm a little left of center / I'm a little out of tune. / Some say I'm paranormal / So I just bend their spoon. / Who wants to be ordinary / In a crazy, mixed-up world? / I don't care what they're sayin'... [Michelle Branch, You Get Me]

4.03.2009

KOOZA

Having hosted the special party for Cirque du Soleil, then hanging out a with a few of the cast & crew at a dive later than night, Spencer was able to secure some tickets to their show Kooza.
Unfortunately Spencer has to work, so Sara & I went to see Kooza today for free.
Why get bogged down with verbosity? Here's what you need to know:

Amazing.
Spectacular.
Insane.
Beautiful.

Some of the acts gave me the feeling of glee -- a word I have never had use for to describe any of my emotions. Pure child-like reactions of happiness. =)
Also, I have never been to any actual circus before...

It was really cool to see the performers doing their acts and suddenly get the revelation -- OH! that is Jimmy's wife singing! Or the King is the guy who did the mime act at Illusions! ...and etc. ;P
I ordered the Kooza soundtrack from Amazon tonight -- I loved that aspect as well. ^_^

3.24.2009

Bragging Rights: Cirque du Soleil

Tonight at Illusions we had a very special private party: the cast & crew of Cirque du Soleil's KOOZA show.
In a cabaret style, a good ten different people performed their own personal acts on our stage: dancing, juggling, ukulele playing, guitar playing, magic tricks, hiphop rapping, singing. Spencer & I did the Card-to-Pocket with the Slo-Mo, and he ended the show with the straitjacket escape.

I got to do all the sound tech/music jazz for the Cirque du Soleil performers!! :-P
Those are my bragging rights. =)

It was a good, but super-busy, night at Illusions. Fortunately everyone was so very friendly & patient. ^_^
After closing @1am, Spencer & I were invited to hang out at a little dive near Canton/Fells Point with a few people from Cirque and of course we accepted. Fun times there. Great people.


I had a "Moment" with the first performer, a dancer/contortionist. As she danced, she turned sideways (relative to the audience & stage) and so was facing me who was sitting down behind the bar in my usual spot next to the stage (with her mp3 player in my hand). For 1-2 minutes straight she was looking me directly in the eye as she did her thing. I was smiling of course because I was enjoying her performance, and she was smiling, enjoying what she was doing. But in the locked-in eye contact, we had a "Moment." =)
Then you could see the quiver in each others' cheeks -- we were both trying not to laugh. She didn't want to break character of course, and I didn't want to make her!

Her song was "Happy Ending" by Mika:
This is the way you left me / I'm not pretending. / No hope, no love, no glory / No Happy Ending. / This is the way that we love / Like it's forever. / Then live the rest of our life / But not together.

3.23.2009

6 Minutes to Midnight...

Eleven:54 [MySpace] plays at the bar The Horse You Came In On in Fells Point every Sunday night. No cover, cheap drinks. Sara is friends with the band members (even drove their van on a tour to North Carolina some time ago).
So last night after a few hours of playing Rock Band, ~11:54pm she & I arrived there. Spencer met us there even later.

Eleven:54 is awesome; a very fun band. Sara gave me their CD last Spring/Summer and it's one in which every song on the album is great, no filler. I was hooked after hearing just one song: Rebound Girl (which you can hear on their MySpace page). >:-]
I distinctly remember Spencer & I playing Super Smash Bros Wii on his bed and Sara had her laptop out on the bed going thru her music collection to preview bands she thought I [we] would like, and just knew Rebound Girl would hook me on to Eleven:54 -- and she was right.
And they do great covers of songs we know, 90's rock stuff. And they'll start a song, bridge into another, bridge into another, bridge into a another, then blend back into the song they started. Genius. =)


And who was also at The Horse last night? ZEB!!
I don't have old friends I grew up with that I run into from time to time; I grew up in NY ~250 miles from Baltimore. So running into a high school friend (Maryland), especially an awesome one like Zeb, is very special for me. That's twice in one year, Zeb. =)
He said he had run into an ex of mine the other night, which just adds to the coincidences... as I haven't seen her in like 8-10 years. (And it feels really weird to put such a "large" number to that.) o_O
And with asking me how my sister is, and if I was still dating someone from a while ago, & such Qs I realized: Zeb could be my historian. ;P

Also, I have Pocky. ^_^


I've been in this rut for so long I got sick / Waiting a lifetime for moments like this / Moments that make me think back to the days / Days when I'm drinkin' and wastin' away!
I'll be here in the mean time / I'll be here in the mean time / I'll be here in the mean time.
Folks always ask what in my life I'd change / If I had it again I wouldn't change anything!
[Eleven:54, Mean Time]