I know where I am, where are you? ':-)
4th of July, last minute idea: go to DC for the fireworks.
Sara had come over for dinner cause something was wrong with her car and she was driving up from Annapolis and nearby anyway (turns out her tire was shredding so we had to swap it).
After dinner & dessert with my Aunt & Uncle, we changed the tire and spontaneously decided to head down to DC instead of going to boring old Baltimore. ;P
We saw some fireworks as we entered the city, and on the Metro ride from CUA while still above ground. [I knew it would be easier to park at CUA and ride in than trying to drive into downtown, and it was.]
We got off at Metro Center and started walking toward The Mall & Washington Monument. We noticed more and more people walking the opposite direction. Yep, we missed the big show. That was totally okay by us, it was a nice night (not hot or humid) so we walked to the Lincoln Memorial [pictured above]. The beauty of this is that 95% of the people that had been on The Mall that night were all leaving as we arrived. =)
We hung out there for a while, I took some photos cause I had snagged my camera right as we left.
Sara started getting nervous about missing the last Metro, but I know they run really late on weekends. We caught one at 12:30am back to my car and headed home.
I logged on to WoW and my guildmates who were on were talking about their 4th of July and were all jealous I had I been in DC. ;P
It was so nice to go out on a Saturday night. ^_^
7.05.2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)


No comments:
Post a Comment