11.16.2009

Autumn in Georgetown, 2009

After a bit of miscommunication with Sara, I decided to go for gusto & carpe diem and fended for myself and made plans to go to DC with my sister & bro-in-law on Sunday. We decided on Georgetown because they had wanted to see it all (having only been in that area once prior and not for too long) and I hadn't been there in a long time.
It had been at least 2 years.

Not too much has changed since I used to hang out in Georgetown. A few new shops in place of a few old ones maybe. Actually the biggest change was merely that the small park on the waterfront is gone and is currently a fenced-off construction zone. /shrug

It was fun being back there again, and going into all sorts of fun shops. A few are mandatory for me: Commander Salamander [an odd punk/indie clothing store -- used to have cool toys but no more apparently, boo], the huge Urban Outfitters [again, less fun toys than ever before], Dean & Deluca [but they didn't have any fresh apple cider in stock] and looking in the storefront window of an expensive antique shop at the martini shakers from the 30s-50s they always have on display. Surprisingly I didn't find anything I wanted to buy. Maybe the colored anodized-aluminum shot glasses at Urban Outfitters just for the cool factor, but I certainly don't need 'em.

Georgetown had its usual smell [which of course is difficult to describe, but each part of the city has a slightly different smell based on the stores/restaurants around + how much traffic drives thru] combined with that Autumn dead-leafy smell I love. Oh do I love it!

We drove in to Georgetown, via the Cabin John Parkway exit off 495 -- the same exit for Glen Echo. We continued on the road past the odd "U-turn" to Glen Echo and eventually that takes you around to the main drag thru Georgetown, although on the opposite side I'm used to (the Georgetown University side), it's not the Metro & Georgetown hospital side.

It was a good day -- I always enjoy walking around any part of DC in decent weather, and it was fun to do it with my sis & bro. =)

No comments: