8.14.2010

Starcraft II

After, wait, 12 years?! Blizzard finally made the sequel to Starcraft. I was on the fence about buying it (in my mind most RTS games just boil down to having a larger army than your opponent) but on launch day I got swept up in the hype and got it.
Adam & I went straight from work to Gamestop and each bought a copy. Once we got back to our respective homes we started installing it and txt'ing back & forth about the loading screens, recap movie, intro movie, etc...
Exciting!

Steve also got it, and my coz Joe bought the Collector's Edition (which I wanted). I've started the Skype group, and we've all had fun playing playing co-op teams against the computer in skirmishes. Maybe someday we'll get decent enough to take on human opponents.

What makes SC2's multiplayer better than other RTS games' is the variety in each of the 3 races. Truly none are similar in any way. And there's much variety in the units that can be created for each race, so many many strategies abound.

I'm quite good at Protoss. I have a decent early game and a killer mid-late game.
However, I really prefer Zerg because they're so wildly different from anything in an RTS game ever. It's just that they are more challenging to play. So I'm working on 'em.
Terran to me is basic, and boring. ;P Steve's got a good Terran mid-late game.

No comments: