Friday Feb 5th through Saturday Feb 6th we got between 2 and 3 FEET of snow.
It started around 11am on Friday, but didn't start sticking until the temperature dropped that 1 degree around 2:30pm.
We were let out of work early, at 4pm once the market closed.
By the time I went to bed ~11:30pm we had about 4 inches of snow; not bad.
By the time I woke up Sat morning (~7:30am since I had a conference call at 8am for work) there were at least 2 feet of snow, and it continued to snow until about 3pm.
I haven't measured it exactly, but I hear it's ~28".
The apartment maintenance team impressed me -- twice Friday night, twice, they had a snow blower and cleared the walkways, then again Saturday afternoon. And the parking lot was plowed.
Unfortunately, the back of the lot where I park is like 3 inches of ice, and our cars are plowed in.
I wasn't able to acquire a shovel in the days prior to Friday, so all I have to work with is a dust pan. The snow is a little icy, so that little plastic dust pan literally isn't going to cut it.
Reisterstown Road had 2 lanes plowed clear. But the road out of my neighborhood is bad; compacted snow. A taxi was stuck and some people were pushing it but couldn't get it free. Other cars that tried to move from their parking spots were also getting stuck just trying to maneuver.
As you can infer, I took a walk around the apt complex. I had the notion to take a walk up to a store and maybe see if I could buy a shovel, but there aren't any walkways carved for pedestrians on Reisterstown Road, plus those steeps hills, and the lack of open stores... not worth the hike.
Here is my little Blizzard 2010 photo album -- a few pics I snapped during my stroll. I particularly like the snowballs that rolled down the hill.
2.07.2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment