7.30.2009

*Lego Pirate Spaceship Part I

'Thought blogging this might be interesting to a few people (Joe, Stevo...).
I'm attempting to build a large spaceship in Lego. Something much larger than I've built before. Not HUGE, but large.
And since it'll be a hodge-podge of pieces (loose color them? I HOPE), making the theme be of space pirates with a cobbled-together ship works well. ;P

I may not be able to do it with the pieces I have -- I have a decent sized collection, but I often over-estimate it. And I don't want to compromise and make a small ship. I has to be bigger than the ship I built for my Lego stop motion videos: The Raven.

I'm picking out necessary structural pieces now. I'll lay out the frame and after that I'll be able to tell if I have sufficient large plates to cover the frame.
Details are my thing, so that'll never be a problem. I just opened up the Lego Eiffel Tower, who's ~3500 pieces should provide a great resource for detaily bits.

A pic or two in the next post about it!

If all else fails, I still want to do the Pizza Production Tower to go next to Joe's Pizza Shire castle.

7.19.2009

He was doomed...!

Pearls Before Swine

Yeah, I love Pearls Before Swine. You know that already. ^_^

7.16.2009

70!

A couple of weeks ago I was promoted in my guild to Rank 2, a kind of VIP "officer" status, a rank above the ordinary players. I was honored. =)
I'm the only high-level Warlock in the guild, and pretty much the only active one.

I installed Wrath of the Lich King last night, the second expansion pack to WoW. [The refund for the glitched GPS I had bought cleared.]


I headed to the new continent, where the content is for higher level characters.
Soon after I leveled up to 70! Just 10 more levels to go...
Then I went back to The Outlands and bought a black gryphon, flying mount. I can fly! ^_^


I started 3 new characters, just to see what they're like (I don't plan on playing them much at all, at least until Zy hits 80):

Vordac
-- a human Death Knight. DKs start at lv55 instead of lv1, in a special zone with special lore, and that's very atmospheric & cool.
The name is an homage to King Graham's wizard nemesis Mordac, from the King's Quest series. I've used the name in other games (like Morrowind) for my evil spellcasters. ;P

Vorpalshade
-- a night elf Rogue. Rogues are the nemeses of Warlocks in PvP, so I'd like to learn more about them. Plus the stealth and burst attacks seem fun, and are very different from Warlock playstyle.
The Vorpal Blade is the sword used to slay The Jabberwocky in Alice in Wonderland. "Vorpal" basically means "deadly". And Rogues hide in the shades and shadows...

Zymoonelune -- a night elf Druid. Always liked the idea of shapeshifting.


When I Level Up / I'm gonna have gear / People will fear / That I will duel them / When I Level Up / Achievements done / Titles won / I'll be a Champion!
When I Level Up / Arena time! / Welfare's mine! / I'll be in Deadly. / When I Level Up / I'll be ruthless / Just to progress / Cuz everyone'll let me!
I know it won't be much longer till I hit 80 / Til' I hit 80 / Til' I hit 80!
I know it won't be much longer till I hit 80 / Til' I hit 80 / Til' I hit 80!
[Sharm, When I Level Up]

7.05.2009

DC 4th

I know where I am, where are you? ':-)

4th of July, last minute idea: go to DC for the fireworks.
Sara had come over for dinner cause something was wrong with her car and she was driving up from Annapolis and nearby anyway (turns out her tire was shredding so we had to swap it).
After dinner & dessert with my Aunt & Uncle, we changed the tire and spontaneously decided to head down to DC instead of going to boring old Baltimore. ;P
We saw some fireworks as we entered the city, and on the Metro ride from CUA while still above ground. [I knew it would be easier to park at CUA and ride in than trying to drive into downtown, and it was.]

We got off at Metro Center and started walking toward The Mall & Washington Monument. We noticed more and more people walking the opposite direction. Yep, we missed the big show. That was totally okay by us, it was a nice night (not hot or humid) so we walked to the Lincoln Memorial [pictured above]. The beauty of this is that 95% of the people that had been on The Mall that night were all leaving as we arrived. =)

We hung out there for a while, I took some photos cause I had snagged my camera right as we left.
Sara started getting nervous about missing the last Metro, but I know they run really late on weekends. We caught one at 12:30am back to my car and headed home.

I logged on to WoW and my guildmates who were on were talking about their 4th of July and were all jealous I had I been in DC. ;P

It was so nice to go out on a Saturday night. ^_^