5.29.2009

My Ransacked Car

Last night (5am this morning) I left Spencer's house and walked around to his driveway to discover... someone had broken into my car!! In the rain! >:-/
They didn't break any windows, or vandalize the car at all. But they took everything out of the glove box, center console, and other misc holding areas and tossed it about. They yanked the wires to my neon lights (fortunately I was able to rewire them today -- no permanent damage).

What was stolen from me:
* My TomTom GPS and its mount -- from the center console, hidden away from any passer-by's gaze
* My Sony mp3 player [see last post] -- from the center console also hidden away
* My Jabra Bluetooth earpiece -- in my glasses case which was stuffed in the car door's pocket
* A few quarters & loose change, plus 5 $1 bills in the center console

SO mad.

Sara said it's good I didn't catch 'em in the act, or I might've killed 'em. I might have -- there's a large brick wall right there and I can see myself in a red-hazed rage smashing his head over & over into it...
"If you can read this, you're probably not dead yet." --Nny


There was a thunderstorm & downpour this afternoon. Fit my mood perfectly. And when it ended I felt a little better.

I ordered a new Sony mp3 player from BestBuy & did in-store pickup today. It's 8Gb up from 4Gb, a little lighter, has a few extra features, slightly larger screen. Cost a little less than what I paid for the other one a year & a half ago. I feel a little better "recovering" something lost.
Can't really afford a new GPS at the moment too, but I can borrow my dad's if I need to.

At least only a couple of mere 'things' were taken, and nothing was done to my car. Again, not a window broken.
Still, makes you feel unsafe.

I popped my DOOM mix cd while I drove to/from BestBuy. Very fitting.

5.27.2009

*Another Multi-part Update

!.) Went down to Raleigh last week to visit with my coz Joe. Fun times as always, tho too short. Got to hang out with my NCLUG friends too, who were happy to see me. ^_^ Ate good Italian food at every meal (and as always at least one trip to Schiano's is mandatory!).
Driving home Thurs afternoon took a full hour longer than it should have (from DC thru MD) because it was the begining of Memorial Day weekend and it seems everyone got out of work early Thursday afternoon, grrrr.

@.) Saw Star Trek on the IMAX while in NC. Good stuff. Definitely didn't feel like Star Trek, and if you change all of the names of the characters, ships, planets & races, they could've kicked off an entirely different and NEW sci-fi Universe/series.
Still, very good movie. And once again Star Trek uses the time travel cop-out. ;P It was cool to know that Geordi La Forge designed Spock's special ship, but that fact was not even seen on a plaque on the ship. :-/
It will be interesting to see how they top it with the next one (a script is already being written).

#.) Bought and have been playing World of Warcraft! In fact I've not just playing with Stevo, but I was invited into a very friendly (chatty) & helpful guild -- which has made playing a lot more fun, even when I'm soloing.
I'll start new, separate posts about my adventures in WoW...

$.) Sunday afternoon my sister & bro-in-law came over. Frederic & I installed my new Sony Xplod car stereo. While I could've done it myself, it was definitely more fun with someone, particuarly someone who has installed car stereos before.
It looks good, with red glowing buttons & a bluish-grey screen that doesn't have any ugly gfx. Much better than the stock Saturn stereo's amber lighting scheme, which IMO looks cheap.
And now I can plug in my mp3 player into my car, for quickly added playlists & new songs without burning & using up CDs. ^_^
Frederic also brought over his Sony Xplod rear speakers to see if I could use 'em. They're in box frames, very nice, but too big for the rear deck. And since Saturn can't manufacture anything standard, my stock speakers are round and not oval like the standard.
So we put them in the trunk, up against the rear seats. Cut the rear speaker wires (looks like they had been swapped back in already) and hook 'em up to the new speakers. With a little tweaking of the output & fader settings of the stereo we got them sounding good & not muffled. And they have better bass than the stock rear speakers, as I tested that with some ska/reggae songs for their bass lines. B-)

5.08.2009

*Quick Update

1.) Been reading books on mentalism, mind tricks, mental-magic tricks, and general applied psychology & psychological subtleties. I've read 30-40 books in 2 weeks. Information cons00m!

2.) X-Men Origins: Wolverine was good & action packed. Worth seeing. But they f***ed up Deadpool's character entirely, and we're all mad about that! Deadpool has become my new favorite Marvel character, since a few months ago. I've been reading thru the "Cable and Deadpool" series, and playing him in Marvel Ultimate Alliance.

3.) Yes Man was a good Jim Carey movie. He gets to be funny without being stupid like his stuff from 10 years ago. Good message too. Zooey Deschanel (played Trillian in Hitchhiker's Guide...) is a total chick, Diavo style. ^_^

d.) Replaced the 'purple' neon lights in my car with nice blue ones. Put the transparent blue die [singular of dice, FYI] shift knob from my PT Cruiser on. Then ran a blue LED up the shift stick to illuminate the entire die -- looks sweet cause it just glows up. B-)
Put the other blue LED on the back of the center console pointing down to give a little glow to the back seats' floor area.
A while ago I installed 2 green neon lights in my trunk, so my trunk glows entirely green when open.
I love neon lights. ^_^

5.) Gonna get a new car stereo (a Sony Xplod) and install it myself. I've got instructions on doing it in my Saturn, so it won't be difficult, just take time. The reason I'm doing this is to get the front aux input, so I can play my mp3 player and not be limited to just playing CDs. I'm spending less than $100 on this project.

VI.) Gonna download and play the 10 Day Free Trial of World of Warcraft. Playing with Stevo next week, who's been playing WoW for years. Will I keep playing it? We'll see...

7.) Anticipating going down to Raleigh to visit my coz Joe soon, in a week or two...! =)

8.) The 2 scents of deodorant I switch between are called Afterhours (which I've used for years now) and Showtime. Damn that marketing worked on me. ;P