3.24.2009

Bragging Rights: Cirque du Soleil

Tonight at Illusions we had a very special private party: the cast & crew of Cirque du Soleil's KOOZA show.
In a cabaret style, a good ten different people performed their own personal acts on our stage: dancing, juggling, ukulele playing, guitar playing, magic tricks, hiphop rapping, singing. Spencer & I did the Card-to-Pocket with the Slo-Mo, and he ended the show with the straitjacket escape.

I got to do all the sound tech/music jazz for the Cirque du Soleil performers!! :-P
Those are my bragging rights. =)

It was a good, but super-busy, night at Illusions. Fortunately everyone was so very friendly & patient. ^_^
After closing @1am, Spencer & I were invited to hang out at a little dive near Canton/Fells Point with a few people from Cirque and of course we accepted. Fun times there. Great people.


I had a "Moment" with the first performer, a dancer/contortionist. As she danced, she turned sideways (relative to the audience & stage) and so was facing me who was sitting down behind the bar in my usual spot next to the stage (with her mp3 player in my hand). For 1-2 minutes straight she was looking me directly in the eye as she did her thing. I was smiling of course because I was enjoying her performance, and she was smiling, enjoying what she was doing. But in the locked-in eye contact, we had a "Moment." =)
Then you could see the quiver in each others' cheeks -- we were both trying not to laugh. She didn't want to break character of course, and I didn't want to make her!

Her song was "Happy Ending" by Mika:
This is the way you left me / I'm not pretending. / No hope, no love, no glory / No Happy Ending. / This is the way that we love / Like it's forever. / Then live the rest of our life / But not together.

3.23.2009

6 Minutes to Midnight...

Eleven:54 [MySpace] plays at the bar The Horse You Came In On in Fells Point every Sunday night. No cover, cheap drinks. Sara is friends with the band members (even drove their van on a tour to North Carolina some time ago).
So last night after a few hours of playing Rock Band, ~11:54pm she & I arrived there. Spencer met us there even later.

Eleven:54 is awesome; a very fun band. Sara gave me their CD last Spring/Summer and it's one in which every song on the album is great, no filler. I was hooked after hearing just one song: Rebound Girl (which you can hear on their MySpace page). >:-]
I distinctly remember Spencer & I playing Super Smash Bros Wii on his bed and Sara had her laptop out on the bed going thru her music collection to preview bands she thought I [we] would like, and just knew Rebound Girl would hook me on to Eleven:54 -- and she was right.
And they do great covers of songs we know, 90's rock stuff. And they'll start a song, bridge into another, bridge into another, bridge into a another, then blend back into the song they started. Genius. =)


And who was also at The Horse last night? ZEB!!
I don't have old friends I grew up with that I run into from time to time; I grew up in NY ~250 miles from Baltimore. So running into a high school friend (Maryland), especially an awesome one like Zeb, is very special for me. That's twice in one year, Zeb. =)
He said he had run into an ex of mine the other night, which just adds to the coincidences... as I haven't seen her in like 8-10 years. (And it feels really weird to put such a "large" number to that.) o_O
And with asking me how my sister is, and if I was still dating someone from a while ago, & such Qs I realized: Zeb could be my historian. ;P

Also, I have Pocky. ^_^


I've been in this rut for so long I got sick / Waiting a lifetime for moments like this / Moments that make me think back to the days / Days when I'm drinkin' and wastin' away!
I'll be here in the mean time / I'll be here in the mean time / I'll be here in the mean time.
Folks always ask what in my life I'd change / If I had it again I wouldn't change anything!
[Eleven:54, Mean Time]

3.22.2009

I tried new food!

Korean "BBQ" at a Korean restaurant uptown (Baltimore) @ 2:30am, after we closed Illusions.
The meat is cooking on the grill on the table, and there's a myriad collection of dishes filled with various Korean foodstuffs.
I tried a few new -- ~scary looking -- foods [which as you know, is a big deal for me], though it helps to be hand-fed by a pretty Korean girl [Lisa]. ^_^

[Also, not bad for a cellphone pic, ay?]

3.15.2009

Items selected from my brain's intrigues.

Finding new music that I really dig is always a special event for me. Mostly cause I have high standards.
The last happy finding was in January when I discovered The Seatbelts, who did the entire soundtrack to Cowboy Bebop. Before that, I don't remember.
Erin turned me on [woo-woo!] to The Cat Empire [wiki] Friday night amidst random conversation while drinking at the 8x10 (in the upstairs VIP room) after we closed Illusions & 8x10 had also closed.
They're a jazz/funk/latin/ska blend. Erin said the exact perfect words in talking about this band to pique my serious interest; words like "trumpet" and "piano" and well... You had me at hello. ;P

I recognized the band name because we have one song of theirs that plays on Illusions' playlist, and I have it as an mp3. I was able to "acquire" 3 entire albums of theirs yesterday, and burned them to CD for her. Despite me finding then giving her the albums, I feel like she gave them to me in a similar manner that Sara introduced me to Invader Zim and Cowboy Bebop.


Sara got Spencer Rock Band 2 for his birthday. He's been downloading songs, and uploaded the Rock Band 1 songs too. Tuesday after bowling, and again late on Wednesday, a few of us were playing for hours: party-atmosphere.
I got to show off my Medium & Hard guitar skillz that I've cultivated with Jason for the past year and a half. ^_^ Plus sing, that's always fun when you know the song. And I've started drumming on Easy. I hadn't really had any interest in drumming previously, but now that I've started, I like it a lot. Especially when it's a fast/heavy song & I can wail on the pads. [Gotta release stress somehow, right? ;P]


I'm brainstorming & starting to design [design, not yet create] a computer game in the classic 90's style adventure genre. I'll be using Adventure Game Studio to do it, and so it won't be impossible to create.
Background: I used to make games with Klick & Play which was great at the time. And I know scripting from the object-oriented programming involved in making worlds (read: games) in ZZT, of which I completed 5 sizeable games. And obviously Photoshop CS4 & I are close friends. ;P
This is something I had briefly looked into a couple of years ago but didn't have the time to dive into. Now I do, might as well be productive.
I figured I'd make short-length games that would all tie into each other. Either one character in episodes (like the Hugo trilogy) or several characters in the same Universe, a game for each (like the King's Quests).
I'm leaning toward the latter, and they'll be based on the concepts started in my webcomic Dream Too Darkly, with each game being dedicated to a different person's dream. Similar to Psychonauts where each "level" is in a different mind and thus a different style. But they'll all tie into an over-arching plot, and of course have the psychologist narrating from his notes.
I definitely want my cousin Joe, and Sara, to playtest for me. ^_^


The Watchmen was amazing. Best direct translation book-to-film since Jurassic Park. Even literal scenes straight from the comic books, and dialogue unchanged. I went *squee* when the guy in Happy Harry's said "squidgy". ;P
[And this is what we need: direct translations to the screen, and NOT some director's personal crappy version of an already proven great story.]
Great acting too. Reminds me that most of the acting we see in movies is only mediocre. We call it "good" because that's a relative term, and we normally judge movie acting against other mediocre movies we perceive as "good". Kinda like calling any high school/college acting "good". It's really actually bad, but it's "good" compared to that level.


And maybe she'd say we are crazy / The two of us together like Melbourne weather / Be like balls in a maze, see? / We rolling along in obscurity / But when we meet in the middle / Say "Mmm it's a treat!" [The Cat Empire, Lullaby]
It's not actually a lullaby, and that's just one reason this song is awesome. ^_^

3.04.2009

Cyborg-bot time!

I used to draw robots kinda like this when I was a kid. So in my boredom after midnight (hate being sick) I fired up Photoshop & my tablet and let my imagination take over.
I like the result, even though it was a little unexpected, as it was completely off the top of my head.
The only element I intended to have was the floating brain with spiky probes aiming at it.

Click for the full view with my hand-written notes. Or see it with more commentary here on my deviantArt account (and see my new Irish-themed wallpaper I created this weekend).

3.02.2009

Sn0w

I love snow.
You know that.
We got several inches Sunday evening into Monday (today).
I was at Jason & Megan's Sunday evening for a few hours to hang out, and we kept an eye (& camera) on the weather.

I stayed up late (as usual actually) and watched it snow outside. I ate reheated Mac & Cheese (yum!) while sitting at the bay window at ~3am. So pretty outside, and quiet; untouched by civilization, no tracks. Just serenity.

Oh I'm sorry, you were asleep during that weren't you? By the time you got up Monday morning and looked out the window, some cars probably had driven by, kids may be playing around, and dog-walkers tramping through? Maybe even your road got plowed I bet.
I like my world better. ^_^


Unfortunately, this natural spectacle of beauty is paired with me being sick. Whatever it was that I got infected with last week from Spencer has finally overtaken me, despite my rebellious efforts to ignore & fight it for 4-5 days. The past couple of days I've been blowing my nose continuously, but today has added the kickers: headache from congestion, achy muscles, zero energy, feeling freezing cold.
A few little red potion bottles would be useful right about now...
DiavoJinx> lvl28 Mage need rez plz!

So much for vehemently refusing to be sick...! ;P