5.17.2010

Horde For Life, ay ay ay

Horde For Life music video parody of T.I & Rihanna's Live Your Life.

Friday night Steve came over & spent the night for a little WoW LAN party. We created Horde characters on Smolderthorn. My goal is to level a Horde character before the next expansion, Cataclysm, is released which will sunder the world and change almost everything. I want to experience the Horde's "old world" content.
Picked Smolderthorn cause we know people IRL on it, so we may run into them. Also there's a 1:7.2 Alliance:Horde ratio. Heh heh.

I don't know what it is but I think the Horde side is cooler. Instead of ships to go between capital cities, Horde has Zeppelins. You actually ride them if they are taking you to a place that's on the same continent.
The NPC's greetings talk about honor and duty, instead of just "see you next time." Kinda Klingon-like. "Ka'pla"? ;P
I like the gothic-yet-neon look of Undercity. Nightmare Before Christmas or Corpse Bride's underworld gothic.

Stevo & my characters are lvl12 (him a troll Shaman, me an orc Warlock). He's already bored with leveling! He likes raiding, I like leveling (except it is sometimes too slow).
The goal was to play together only with these 2. But I wanna play more! So last night with nothing better to do I created a Death Knight. Leveled him from 55 to 58 and out of the DK starting zone in just 3 hours flat. Ended with 35 gold too! So that is a little bankroll for my Hordies since I don't really care about the DK.

I said Hordies, plural. Today (3 day weekend cause I work Sat) I started a new character: an undead Priestess. She's fun to fight with. Already level 9 in ~3 hours /played. She's got a fireball-type spell, healing spells, and a shield I can put up every 15 secs (lasts for 30 or until it absorbs max damage).
She's going to be my DPS shadow priestess. >8:-]

5.04.2010

May the Fourth be with you.

Installed new tail lights on my car tonight. Need to find a nice place and a sunny day so I can take some pro photos of my car, now that most every exterior mod I wanted is done. Just gotta debadge the sides (that means take off the chrome letters "PT Cruiser") and then attach the chrome script "Streetrod" emblem on the back hatch.
There's one more major customization I want to do. A bit pricey and totally worth it: black flames on the hood. But that can wait a while.


Showed off the iPad to my parents. Had a lot of fun zipping around the Google Maps app to our vacation spots, our house in NY, my parents' houses that they grew up in. Then my Mom noticed that you can drop a pin and accidentally initiated the street view. Awesome! Panning around on the iPad was great. So I jumped to a few neat places after we scoped out our old house in NY... I showed her The Strip in Vegas. Then after seeing the Eiffel Tower in Vegas on the street view, I jumped to the real one in Paris. Awesome. Then Stonehenge.
Then the town of Voltaggio in Italy. Then Catalafima in Sicily, where the Voltaggios emigrated from to America about a hundred years ago. Very neat.

Evolution... like the dinosaur

I bought an iPad.
Yep. Me.
As you know I'm not a fan of Apple -- it's just a trendy version of Microsoft. Yet people think MS is evil but Apple is "cool". Sure. And I'm also a big fan of Linux for the indie computing.

The iPad is a worthwhile toy. And a step into the future.

I got to play with Jason's Sat night and it is fun. So after some research later that night, I went out Sunday to the Apple store in Columbia mall (good day for a topless drive and I actually got sunburned a bit) and was in and out in 5 min. Seriously!

Aside from games and Internet & email, I also am using it as a digital and portable sketch book. I downloaded Adobe Ideas, vector-based drawing, as well as Sketchbook Pro for a few bucks. SBP has many different brushes, options, and layers. =) Plus the file can be saved as a Photoshop psd project file...

I also set up a few things like I'm used to at work so I can remote into my home PC using the iPad. That could be useful when I'm out & about... ;P

The keyboard is nice. No more typos than I get with a normal keyboard.
Yeah, I typed this entry on the iPad.

More impressions of it to come...